newb needing some questions answered.

Ask and discuss about how to work with electribes. Share your discoveries and ideas.

Moderator: Aciphecs

newb needing some questions answered.

Postby xbubbax on Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:18 am

hi all.
i was wondering about this electribe emx1 I picked up.
i get how to make a part and put your parts together to make a whole part using synth and drum banks.

BUT....

can i use the audio in to use my kaossilator as a sample in the synth bank.
i see on the synth ocollator, at 6 oclock there is audio in + comb <---what is this and can my kaossilator be played into this synth bank?

also im new to MIDI.
i want to be able to use my midi keyboard with the electribe to be able to take in sounds and make leads if i wanted to using my keyboard.

also can someone show / tell me what midi with the electribe can really do?

thanks guys. :thumbs:
xbubbax
Electribe Newbie

Re: newb needing some questions answered.

Postby Argus on Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:20 am

hey,
first of all, congrats on your EMX and welcome.

strictly speaking, you can't sample anything with the EMX - that's what the ESX is there for. you can, however, use the EMX's audio in part to apply effects, filters and modulation to your audio input, so you still have quite a few options of what to do with your Kaossilator.
however, you won't be able to record or sequence this. everything coming into the EMX will have to be live unless it's pre-recorded somewhere else (like on your computer or a recording device).

concerning your second question, using a MIDI keyboard with the EMX is a great idea. in fact, I would barely use it without one. there are some more advanced MIDI mapping functions that you best check out in the manual, but basically, at least the keyboard parts should be plug-and-play.

if you want to go more advanced, you can also get a more complex MIDI controller with rotaries and pads for extra control, but IMHO, a simple keyboard will do just fine.

good luck, and enjoy!